Want to Change the World? Start with Yourself.

Quote: “Be the change that you wish to see in the world.”  Gandhi

Here is another tale that reinforces the best way to start to change the world. This story was supposedly written on the tomb stone of an Anglican Bishop in the Crypts of Westminster Abbey:

“When I was young and free and my imagination had no limits, I dreamed of changing the world. As I grew older and wiser, I discovered the world would not change, so I shortened my sights somewhat and decided to change only my country.
But it too seemed immovable.

As I grew into my twilight years, in one last desperate attempt, I settled for changing only my family, those closest to me, but alas, they would have none of it.

And now as I lie on my deathbed, I suddenly realize: If I had only changed myself first, then by example I would have changed my family.

From their inspiration and encouragement, I would have then been able to better my country and, who knows, I may have even changed the world.”

This is wonderful advice, because by understanding who we are and accepting the reality of constant change we can position our thinking and acting to take on change by focusing the only person we have control over and that is ourselves.  Ultimately the only person you have any true power over, is yourself.  Most of the research on change and leadership points to the fact that steady and lasting change takes place when we model the change we would like to see from others. So start small and tackle in the next week one personal change you would like to model for others. For example, next week when people ask you to do something for them do it with a smile and joyfulness.

Leave a Reply

