The Christmas Hawk named Edward

For Elie and Spencer

Growth Mindset: Be a Life-long Learner

Miss you and your peaceful refrains

On this cold Winter Morn

Sun shines bright in the North August backyard

I look around and see the basketball court

And remember those exciting and fun days

The court is shoveled and my hands are covered with painter’s gloves

The fingers from the knuckle up to the tips are bare, so as to dribble and shoot better…

I look and see a red-tailed Hawk I call Edward perched on a leafless tree

My friend Edward is looking beyond me to the meadow, silent and majestic

I turned and shoot the ball bouncing it off the rim toward Edward and he remains unchanged

And still as the cold morning breeze blows the ball down the hill stopping by his tree.

I look up and our eyes meet…he stirs and looks back

Then he pushes off the branch and unravels his beautiful wide red and brown…

View original post 76 more words

Leave a Reply

