Story Telling: The Women who Changed my Life Through Unconditional Love

Are you important? I hope you said “Yes” to yourself! I’m important and you’re important because we are all unique and different in our own right. We’re all unique people with unique and special gifts. Our importance is not always recognized and appreciated but we are still special. You do not have to be a celebrity to be important. Just ask your spouse, kids, parents, grandparents, friends or coworkers.

Everyday more and more people are discovering the power of story telling. Stories facilitate teaching life lessons and how people turn the moral lesson of stories into their values and then into to daily action. It is how we construct who we are and are place in this world.

Let me share one quick story. I knew an older woman in her late 60’s till she was 85+ years old who was an important person in my growing up and feeling good about me. She lost her husband at age 60 and never re-married she like telling me stories of her life, listening to the radio and working in the garden. She was a wonderful addition to our family; someone who was always willing to listen and comfort me.  She had not done anything that would make her famous but she’s important nonetheless. Who is this person? My Grandmother Annabelle Savage. If it were not for her I would not feel such a strong belief in myself. She believed I had the potential to do any thing I wanted to do. She was always on my side. What a wonderful and caring women.  From my limited perspective my grandma was very important and I’m sure from my brothers and sister viewpoints because she was a buffer from the strong mother and dad we had. Even my young friends who interacted with her came away feeling important and respected. She was the psychologist in chief for our family from the time I was six years old till the sad day we had to put her in a nursing home when I was twenty-one. A great role model and a wonderful friend who provided me support and ignited a belief in myself. She told me stories about her life, taught me baseball and let me enjoy the Green Hornet and Helen Trent  radio programs with her.

What I took away from this important and loving relationship was that every day as we meet people if we “make them feel important and respected” they’ll sense that and of course they’ll like us for it too.

 Don’t you enjoy it when people treat you like you’re important? It can be humbling at times but I know I enjoy it and I bet you do too. If we enjoy it then why not spread the joy and allow others to feel the same way? Here are a few simple things anyone can do to convey a sense of importance to another person:

  • Show respect – Respect comes easily through small geatures with phrases like, ” Go on I am Listening, Tell me more,”  “Yes please,” “No thank you,” “Excuse me”.  These are simple and none assumes anything from the other person.
  • Golden Rule – Treat people the way you’d like to be treated or the way you’d like someone to treat a loved one. This kind of behavior tends “to go around and come” back to you.
  • Self-fulfilling prophecy–  give the other person expectations to live up too This actually effects their self-esteem and many times creates an optimistic attitude toward life. Conveying belief in another person can help them do more than they thought possible and make them feel more important than ever before. Everyday try to give gift of the “self-fulfilling prophecy” and MMFI  concept.
  • Provide unconditional love and respect to all the people who you interact with.

We make requests of people every single day because we need other people. Recognizing that fact, this blog helps you learn to hear “Yes!” The more friends you make, the easier it is to influence people and hear “Yes!” But it’s not just about getting what you want. It’s about building relationships and enjoying our lives more because of those relationships. Make another person feel important today and that’s one step in the right direction in creating and making a difference in life.

Self-Coaching Challenge: What one thing are you going to do this weekend to make someone feel more important?

Leave a Reply

