New Poem: Father’s Wish…by MW Hardwick

“Your emotional life is not written in cement during childhood. You write each chapter as you go along”. Harry Stack Sullivan

Father’s Wish…by MW Hardwick

If only I could “do over”…

If I had you to raise again,

I’d pay more attention, watch with my eyes and listen more.

I’d look for your strengths and be there for you.

I’d build self-esteem, respect your differences and guide you more.

I’d build castles in the sand and point the finger less.

I would do less correcting and more hugging and connecting.

I would care to have less material stuff and learn to care more.

I’d stop demanding respect and earn it

I’d shoot more baskets, take more runs play more tennis and do it more often.

I would take more hikes and  gaze at more stars together

I’d stop worrying and provide more direction and help sooner

I’d do more hugging and less shouting.

I would be stronger in setting boundaries and affirming much more.

I’d model more about the power of love and less about rules.

If only I could “do over” but I can’t…re-doings not allowed

So I hope you know I did the best I could

And you forgive any errors or hurts I caused

Along the way…Along the way.. Along the way

I only hope it’s not too late…not too late…For more father and son hugs…

And for you to find your way and write your life script

For I did my best….my best…

4 thoughts on “New Poem: Father’s Wish…by MW Hardwick”

  1. Reblogged this on The Wick and commented:

    As you get older I find it important to ask forgiveness and feedback which will provide me with more honest reflection of who I have been. MWH

  2. I wanted to post you a little word to be able to give many
    thanks over again on the great principles you’ve featured at this time. It was really shockingly open-handed with people like you to allow freely what exactly a few people could have distributed for an e-book in order to make some money for their own end, and in particular considering that you could possibly have done it if you ever wanted. The good ideas as well acted like a good way to be certain that many people have the same interest the same as mine to realize a whole lot more pertaining to this condition. I believe there are some more fun periods up front for many who look into your blog.

  3. Hi Mitchel–It is kind of you to take the time to provide me with feedback. What keeps me going in this lonely world of blogging are appreciative people such as yourself. Do me a favor and share the wick with some of your friends. Also, let me know which posts have been so helpful. Thanks again, (thewick) Mark W. Hardwick, Ph.D.

  4. Thank you so much for providing individuals with an extremely terrific opportunity to check
    tips from this website. It can be very pleasing and also stuffed with amusement for me personally and my office
    acquaintances to visit the blog no less than thrice per week to find out the newest guides
    you have got. And definitely, I am always satisfied considering
    the gorgeous ideas you give. Selected two areas on this page are really the most
    suitable we have all ever had.

Leave a Reply

