Daily Quote and Reflection: Are you reaching your Potential?

Daily Quote:

“The process of the good life is not, I am convinced, a life for the faint-hearted. It involves the stretching and growing of becoming more and more of ones potentialities. It involves the courage to be. It means launching oneself fully into the stream of life.” Carl Rogers

Reflection : My favorite wise man of interpersonal connections is Dr. Carl Rogers, father of the humanistic movement called Client-Centered Therapy. His humanistic approach to working with clients challenged Freud and Skinner as a thought leader because he believed in the potential of people not just focusing on their sickness or weaknesses. He believed in providing a client-centered environment where people could work on solving their own issues. here are some his favorite questions:–What have you ever dreamed of becoming?  What are the limits and conditions that interfere with you becoming  the person you want to be? Reflect on the most important compliments and praise you ever received ? When in your life did you experience unconditional positive regard?  These questions reflect the notion that Unconditional positive regard is a core condition to a healthy and vibrant life. Also a core condition is the acceptance and support of a person regardless of what the person says or does is the road to becoming a fully functioning person. To grow a person needs an environment an environment that provides them with genuineness (openness and self-disclosure), acceptance (being seen with respect and dignity) and empathy (being listened to and understood). Without these, relationships and healthy personalities will not develop as they should, much like a tree will not grow without sunlight and water.

Rogers believed that every person can achieve their goals, wishes and desires in life because life is not determined and predestined. I think his greatest contribution was the optimistic view that  we behave as we do because of the way we perceive our situation and experiences in life. “As no one else can know how we perceive, we are the best experts on ourselves.” When a person is self-aware and clear on their strengths and weaknesses and acts to always keep growing or becoming , we are congruent and self actualization can take place.

Activity: So the question to reflect on today is that if you believe that within every person there is a “best self” capable of goodness, happiness, and choices what is standing in your way from creating the best you can be?

1 thought on “Daily Quote and Reflection: Are you reaching your Potential?”

  1. Dad, I think taking control of your own destiny is a must in life. However, it is tough to end up with, or get the things you want from life, at least for me. I dream a lot, and I think myth is the key to dealing with environmental stress in life. What do you think about that? That is why I am trying to get back to the mythic in life! For a time there I lost the mythic and was more focused on my worries. I am just now reflecting upon the mythic in my art, and I told my caseworker, Kara, that I look for writing in my art. I do not think I really connected with her in what I was trying to convey, so I will try to relate it to you. There are stories in art, and the mind can take it where it wants to. Art, in other words, invites the viewer, the artist, the critic to explain it using words and stories. I would love to be able to make a movie with some of these ideas or stories I find in my art. It is really mind-expansive and creates writing as you look at and interpret the art. This, for me, is related to controlling your own destiny. Instead of the boring comments one usually hears, now one has new writing and best of all new stories, either to write down or include in film. I hope you can relate or understand what I am trying to say.—Todd

Leave a Reply

